Live Large, Live Free

Posted July 4, 2021 by Pepper Hastings

Categories: Uncategorized

The Spirit of '76 by Archibald Willard

Happy July 4th from the Automation Now blog team!

"He who drinks a fifth on the 4th may not come forth on the 5th." -- George Washington (not really)

Read More

Traceability in Food and Beverage Packaging (White Paper from Ormon)

Posted June 15, 2021 by Pepper Hastings

Categories: Uncategorized

Traceability is not optional in Food and Beverage packaging.

In the food and beverage packaging industry, authenticity is essential. Since both public health and consumer satisfaction depend so heavily on product integrity, the food and beverage packaging industry is highly regulated.

Traceability is mandated by food and beverage regulation. Omron's laser markers, inspection verifiers, code readers and controllers cover the spectrum of traceability solutions.

Omron's white paper on traceability is must read for engineers and planners in the F&B packaging industry.

Read More

May Day

Posted May 1, 2021 by Pepper Hastings

Categories: Blog, Uncategorized

Today at our morning hoopla meeting (right), we danced around the Innovative-IDM Maypole to celebrate several things.KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. the end of April
  2. May Day
  3. Our customers
  4. we are free
  5. the fact that May Day and Mayday have very different meanings

Now if you believe all of that malarkey, consider this. We really do have a customer focus meeting EVERY morning at 8:15 a.m. There have been guest appearances by cow tippers, soothsayers, el pollo loco, beanie wienie recipes and lots and lots of motivational techniques.

Customers ARE our focus, and we remind ourselves every morning. Visit us at www.innovative.com or call 1.877.906.2100 for WAGO, Yaskawa motion and Yaskawa drives, Parker mechanical, SMC Pneumatics, Wittenstein actuators and alpha gears, plus Omron and many other factory and plant automation products. And don't forget, we have a field service tech group and an industrial electronics repairs department as well.

Read More

Welcome Jordan Yates

Posted March 16, 2021 by Pepper Hastings

Categories: Uncategorized

Jordan with friend Buzz.

We've added several new teammates in Q1. Welcome Jordan Yates to our Dallas team where she is enduring sales engineer training for the coming months.

Jordan’s first introduction to Innovative-IDM was via webcam with Mike Zimmerman at Texas Tech’s career fair in September.  She eventually was interviewed in-person by Klent Prewitt and Mason Godwin in Lubbock.

“It didn’t seem as real,” Jordan said of the pandemic version of on-campus recruiting. “Usually you have a rush of adrenaline and excitement standing in line waiting to go [into the career fair]. But we still dressed like a regular recruiting event. We were afraid [recruiters] would ask us to stand up to see if we were really dressed for business.” Turns out, says Jordan, a fair share of the companies didn’t know how to turn on their cameras or microphones. “Even some of the huge companies didn’t know how to work the software. Turned into a chat interview.”

A lifelong Texan, Yates played multiple sports for the Pioneers of Boswell High School in Fort Worth.  “I was a well-rounded mediocre athlete,” says Yates, who recently took up the game of golf. “Not very good. I can almost get around the course now.” For a recent birthday, Jordan jumped out of a perfectly good airplane on a skydive. “Painful,” she recalls. “You can’t breath because of the wind and when the chute opens, the straps really jerk you up. Lots of bruises from that one, but I’d do it again.”

With her first two weeks at IIDM behind her, Jordan is certain that she has entered the “consciously incompetent” phase she was warned of on Day One by Gene Gray. “I feel like I’m getting a second degree in electrical engineering. But I’m not worried. People have made it through this before and [IIDM] knows how to get us to the next stage as long as we put in the work. I’m excited. It’s a nice place to work.”

Read More